NEW DELHI: Pakistan finally broke their shackles in the Asia Cup Rising Stars 2025 clash against India A, gaining some relief after a long run of defeats to India at both men’s and women’s level. The match, however, was overshadowed by a bizarre moment that left the Indian camp fuming.

Also READ: Pakistan Shaheens beat India A by 8 wickets in Asia Cup Rising Stars thriller

The flashpoint arrived in the 10th over of Pakistan’s innings when Maaz Sadaqat drilled a straight hit off Suyash Sharma. Nehal Wadhera grabbed the ball cleanly but, losing his balance near the rope, flicked it to Naman Dhir before stepping over. Dhir finished the catch smoothly and India A began to celebrate, assuming it was a routine dismissal.

But the third umpire stunned everyone by declaring the batter not out. The decision confused the Indian players, and captain Suyash Sharma was seen in an intense discussion with the on-field officials.

Adding to the drama, the umpire also refrained from signalling a six, leaving both teams and viewers unsure about what the incident had officially amounted to.

In MCC’s boundary-catch law, a fielder must not be in contact with the ball and the ground beyond the boundary simultaneously. A catch is valid if the player first establishes control inside the field of play, even when passing the ball to a teammate, provided neither fielder touches the boundary during the process.