The conclusion of Kranti Goud's second over featured an exciting climax in the India vs Pakistan match, in the ICC Women’s World Cup. It all started with a simple appeal for LBW and soon developed into a state of confusion and controversy. Kranti hit Muneeba Ali on the pads, and the appeal was dismissed by the on-field umpire. At the same time, a direct hit from Deepti Sharma at the striker’s end produced a tight run-out, which was sent upstairs for a review.

The third umpire had initially ruled Muneeba “Not Out”, confirming with the replay that the bat landed safely behind the crease before the stumps. However, just as India set their field for the next over, the TV umpire asked for another look. The replay revealed a huge detail that Muneeba had lifted her bat after grounding it, as the ball bounced off that bat to break the stumps.

Replays showed that although Muneeba ultimately grounded her bat, she lifted it almost straight away, and it was in the air when the ball hit the stumps. Thus, she was out. Pakistan captain Fatima Sana was visibly disappointed, having a long chat with the umpires on the boundary line while Muneeba made her way back dejectedly.

Interestingly, even if the run-out hadn't stood, Muneeba would still have been out. Ball-tracking for Kranti Goud's original LBW appeal showed all three reds, pitching in line, impact in line, and hitting the middle of the middle stump.

As per Law 30 of the MCC's playing conditions, a batter is out of her ground unless some part of her bat or body is in contact with the ground behind the popping crease. This exception only applies while a batter is running or diving and has already made her ground. Since Muneeba has not been running or diving but was stationary, and thus she lost contact with the ground, it was correct for her to have been adjudged out under the laws.